(845) 563-3400     124 Grand Street, Newburgh, NY 12550
 

Athletics



Welcome to the Newburgh Goldbacks Athletic Department webpage. On this page you will find athletic schedules, latest news, forms, the athletic handbook, and more. Take time to explore our site and if you have any questions or would like to see anything else added to this page, please feel free to contact the webmaster.  

 

SCHEDULE INFORMATION

Keep up on our Goldback games! Download the live schedule App. (Details and instructions below). This schedule app is updated daily to give you the most accurate GOLDBACK schedules, dates, times, and locations. Please check the schedule daily for updates.

Download the RSchool mobile app in the Google Play store or in the Apple App Store

After you download the app, check out this quick start guide to get started! Click here

 

STREAMING INFORMATION

Watch NFA Athletic events live through the NFHS Network. Create an account and watch all of your favorite athletes for free!

 

ATHLETIC UPDATE: WINTER SPORTS SEASON 2021-2022

(updated 10/13/2021)

Athletes MUST register on FAMILY ID for all sports, at all levels, and be APPROVED before trying out for your sport. Additionally, athletes must be eligible to participate based on BOE Policy 5411 (more information below).

 

Winter sports will begin on Monday November 15, 2021 for Varsity, JV, and Freshman levels. 

Modified sports will begin on Monday, November 22, 2021.  

 

*Please make sure when registering you upload an up to date physical if your school’s health office does not already have it. If you are not sure whether or not your physical is up to date, please contact your school’s health office

 

FAMILY ID registration will open for Varsity, JV, & Freshman levels from October 15, 2021 through November 12, 2021

FAMILY ID registration will open for Modified levels from October 22, 2021 through November 19, 2021.  

Please register for the sport you wish to participate in under your home school. Your home school is the school you currently attend.

* Winter sports locations and times will be announced at a later date on the Newburgh Athletic website.

 

APP  Testing:

If you are in 7th or 8th grade and wish to play a high school level sport: Varsity, JV or Freshman, please make sure you have the proper APP paperwork filled out and submitted to your school’s health office. You must also have an up to date physical. Please hand in your APP paperwork to your health office ASAP for the District Doctor needs extra time to approve your student athlete to take the APP test. If you have previously taken the APP test, please check with the athletic office to ensure you do not have to take it again. 

*The APP testing will be as follows on NFA Main campus Track:

NOVEMBER 12 - 3:00pm-4:00pm or 4:00pm-5:00pm

NOVEMBER 15 - 3:00pm-4:00pm or 4:00pm-5:00pm

NOVEMBER 16 - 3:00pm-4:00pm or 4:00pm-5:00pm

 

  • Please make sure you are approved in Family ID for the specific sport you wish to try out for and cleared by the District doctor for the APP test or you will NOT be permitted to take the APP test.
  • If you have any questions please contact your school’s health office or the Athletic office 845-563-5420/5446.

 

As a reminder, all athletes must adhere to BOE policy 5411 - PARTICIPATION IN STUDENT EXTRACURRICULAR ACTIVITIES AND INTERSCHOLASTIC ATHLETICS

APPEAL: If you have not met the District requirements (last year's school year of an 85% attendance rate or 4.5 credits), you may submit an appeal using this link: Eligibility Appeal Process and Form (Please click APPEALS FORM.) 

Please write a detailed explanation of why you are appealing. If you played a Fall 2021 sport and are currently on a contract, you do NOT have to submit a second appeal for you are already on contract for this current school year for athletics. If you have any questions pertaining to this matter, please see Athletic Director, Mr. Harrison.

 

COACHES INFORMATION

WINTER SPORTS 2021-2022 LEVEL COACHES & ID E-MAIL
Basketball Boys V Frank Dinnocenzio fdinnocenzio@necsd.net
Basketball Boys V - Asst Jason McAllister Jr. jason.mcallisterjr@necsd.net
Basketball Boys JV Mike Robinson mrobinson@necsd.net
Basketball Boys FR - Head Matt Geyer mattgeyer52@gmail.com
Basketball Girls V Arturo Santana asantana@necsd.net
Basketball Girls V - Asst Bruce Chapin brucechapindesign@gmail.com
Basketball Girls JV Rachel Gamma rachel.gamma@necsd.net
Competitive Cheerleading V Chelsea Williams cwilliams@necsd.net
Competitive Cheerleading V - Asst Kristen Romanino kromanino@necsd.net
Game Day Cheerleading JV Kristen Rummel krummel@necsd.net
Indoor Track Boys V - Head Malcolm Burks rightonpace@hotmail.com
Indoor Track Boys V - Asst TBD
Indoor Track Girls V Kathi Workman kworkman@necsd.net
Indoor Track Girls V - Asst Briana Walsh bwalsh@necsd.net
Swim & Dive Boys V Zachary Williams zachary.williams@necsd.net
Swim & Dive Boys V - Asst Dave Doulin ddoulin@necsd.net
Wrestling V Chris Leggett cleggett@necsd.net
Wrestling JV William Parks william.parks@necsd.net
Bowling V Matt Iorlano miorlano@necsd.net
Bowling V James Horton jhorton@necsd.net
WINTER MODIFIED 2021-2022 LEVEL COACHES & ID E-MAIL
Basketball Boys M Blue Andrew Velez anvelez@necsd.net
Basketball Boys M Gold TBD
Basketball Girls M Blue Jamel Barnes jbarnes@necsd.net
Wrestling M TBD

 

ATHLETICS FACEBOOK PAGE

Visit the Athletics Facebook Page for the latest news and happenings at https://www.facebook.com/NewburghGoldbacks/  

 

Contact Athletics

Howard Harrison, Athletics Director

Email: hharrison@necsd.net 
Phone:
(845) 563-5420
Fax: (845) 563-5463

Sport Photos


Athletic Schedule

OU BOCES Links:
  Team Schedules
   Site Directions

Check the twitter feed for schedule updates.

Athletic Bus Schedule (updated 9/13)

 

Forms and Documents

Family ID Logo

 Electronically fill out Forms for student athletes. 
Letter to Parents About FamilyID

Athletic Student Handbook (Revised Fall 2020)
The handbook contains all information student athletes need to know about the district's athletic program. It also includes an Acknowledgement Form for students and parents to sign.

APP Testing Forms Packet
Contains Preparticipation/Athletic Health History, Interval Health History, and Student Health Examination

Athletic Placement Process 
Health Appraisal Form

Athletic Forms and Info
Eligibility Policy 
Eligibility Appeal Process and Form
Concussion Management Policy
Concussion Test Form
Accident Report Form
Student Accident Claim Form
Health Appraisal & Preparticipation History
Interval Health History
Student Health Examination

 



 

 



QUICK CONTACT

Main Switchboard
845.563.3400
Food Services
845.563.3424
Registration
845.568.6672
BOE Clerk
845.563.3503
Transportation
845.568.6833
Payroll
845.563.3440
Athletics
845.563.5419
Business/Fin.
845.563.3448
Human Resources
845.563.3460
Technology
845.568.6542
Tax Office
845.563.3490
Newburgh Free Library
845.563.3600

SCHOOLS

Balmville
845.563.8550
Fostertown
845.568.6425
Gardnertown
845.568.6400
GAMS Tech
845.563.8450
Horizons
845.563.3725
Meadow Hill
845.568.6600
New Windsor
845.563.3700
Temple Hill
845.568.6450
Vails Gate
845.563.7900
Heritage Middle
845.563.3750
South Middle
845.563.7000
NFA Main
845.563.5400
NFA North
845.563.8400
NFA West
845.568.6560