(845) 563-3400     124 Grand Street, Newburgh, NY 12550
 

Athletics



ATHLETES: Thursday April 15, 2021 and Friday April 16, 2021 are the last days to register for Spring 2021 sports. 

STREAMING INFORMATION:

Watch NFA Athletic events live through the NFHS Network. Create an account and watch all of your favorite athletes for free!

 

ATHLETIC UPDATE: SPRING SPORTS - 3/18/2021

> Varsity and JV Spring sports will be starting April 19, 2021.

> Modified Spring sports will be starting May 4, 2021. All modified sports will be skills and drills only. No competitive games.

>No modified Boys Lacrosse

REGISTRATION WILL OPEN FOR ALL SPRING SPORTS AND ALL LEVELS on March 19, 2021 through April 6, 2021. Please make sure you register under your HOME school.

  • PLEASE MAKE SURE YOU ARE SIGNED UP UNDER YOUR HOME SCHOOL FOR THE SPORT YOU WISH TO PARTICIPATE IN ON FAMILY ID.
  •  BE APPROVED BEFORE COMING TO PRACTICE AND THE APP TEST. 
  • BEFORE TAKING THE APP TEST PLEASE MAKE SURE YOU HAVE BEEN RECOMMENDED BY THE COACH OF THE SPORT YOU WISH TO PARTICIPATE IN
  •  ALL PAPERWORK WAS SUBMITTED TO YOUR SCHOOL HEALTH OFFICE.

APP testing dates are FINAL and as follows. Meeting place for the test will be NFA Main, back of school by the Boys gym stairs, passed the Auto Shop building. Please arrive 15 minutes before the test to check in. 

Tuesday April 13, 2021

Test 1 begins 3:00 PM

Test 2 begins 4:30 PM

Wednesday April 14, 2021

Test 1 begins 3:00 PM

Test 2 begins 4:30 PM

SCHEDULES ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE

 

  • Please make sure you are approved in Family ID and cleared for the specific sports APP Test or you will not be permitted to take the APP test.
  • Please make sure when you fill out the on the athletic screener in the drop-down menu you select APP Test, not the sport you are testing for.
  • The Location is the lower parking lot on Roe St. for check-in at NFA Main

As a reminder from the 2/5/2021 update: 

The Orange County Department of Health is requiring a number of steps that must occur to allow high risk sports to begin.  These include:

  • A school board resolution or the written consent of the School Superintendent/President will be needed detailing:
    • which sports will be permitted to be played
    • which grades will be permitted to play.
  • Medical clearance for student-athletes will be required (school medical staff may provide such clearance)
  • Parents/guardians must give their informed, written consent for the NECSD code of conduct that can be found in Family ID
  • The school district must retain the original Code of Conduct or a computer-scanned version of the same and produce the same upon the request of the Commissioner of Health of any such

Additionally, the Orange County DOH indicates:

  • High-risk school sports may be suspended if the local 7- day percent positivity rolling average exceeds the State average.

As a result of this, these sports will begin off-season style workouts where there will be no sharing of equipment and no full-contact sports until all requirements are met. 

Orange County Department of Health - Health Risk Communication

 

General Information

Welcome to the Newburgh Goldbacks Athletic Department webpage. On this page you will find athletic schedules, latest news, forms, the athletic handbook, and more. Take time to explore our site and if you have any questions or would like to see anything else added to this page, please feel free to contact the webmaster. 

 

Coaches Information

FALL 2 SPORTS 2020-2021 LEVEL COACHES & ID E-MAIL
Cross Country - Boys V Chris Marino cmarino@necsd.net
Cross Country - Girls V Kathi Workman kworkman@necsd.net
Cheerleading V Chelsea Williams cwilliams@necsd.net
Cheerleading V - Asst. Co Kristen Romanino kromanino@necsd.net
Cheerleading V - Asst. Co Lauren Skinner lskinner@necsd.net
Cheerleading JV Kristen Rummel krummel@necsd.net
Football V - Head Bill Bianco wbianco@necsd.net
Football V-Asst. Andy Toback antoback@necsd.net
Football V - Asst. Mike Robinson mrobinson@necsd.net
Football V - Asst. Ben Lazarski blazarski@necsd.net
Football V - Asst. James Horton, Jr. jhorton@necsd.net
Football JV - Head Matt Geyer mattgeyer52@gmail.com
Football JV - Asst. Jason McAllister, Jr. jason.mcallisterjr@necsd.net
Football JV - Asst. Scott Seabury sseabury@necsd.net
Football FR - Head Josh Conn jconn@necsd.net
Football FR - Asst. Paul Pacione
Soccer - Boys V - Head Matt Iorlano miorlano@necsd.net
Soccer - Boys V - Asst. Paul Matthews pmatthew@necsd.net
Soccer - Boys JV Mike Pellegrinelli mpellegr@necsd.net
Soccer - Girls V - Head Dave Doulin ddoulin@necsd.net
Soccer - Girls V - Asst. Jennifer Grogan jgrogan@necsd.net
Soccer - Girls JV - Head Mark Wenzel mark.wenzel@necsd.net
Swimming - Girls V - Head Patrick Kavanagh pkavang@necsd.net
Swimming - Girls V - Asst. Zach Williams zwilliams@necsd.net
Tennis - Girls V Gina Imperiale gimperiale@necsd.net
Tennis - Girls JV Keith Schafer kschafer@necsd.net
Volleyball V Katie-Lee Mineo katieleemineo@necsd.net
Volleyball JV Bjorn Hansen bjorn.hansen906@yahoo.com
FALL 2 MODIFIED SPORTS LEVEL COACHES & ID E-MAIL
Cross Country - Boys & Girls MOD Aribelys Taveras ataveras@necsd.net
Football-NO MODIFIED MOD
Football- NO MODIFIED MOD - Asst.
Soccer - Boys MOD - Blue Tim Palmer tpalmer@necsd.net
Soccer - Girls MOD -Blue Art Santana asantana@necsd.net
Volleyball-NO MODIFIED MOD - Blue
Volleyball-NO MODIFIED MOD - Gold

Athletics Facebook Account 

Viisit the Athletics Facebook Page for the latest news and happenings at https://www.facebook.com/NewburghGoldbacks/  

 

Contact Athletics

Howard Harrison, Athletics Director

Email: hharrison@necsd.net 
Phone:
(845) 563-5420
Fax: (845) 563-5463

Sport Photos


Athletic Schedule

OU BOCES Links:
  Team Schedules
   Site Directions

Check the twitter feed for schedule updates.

Athletic Bus Schedule (updated 3/11)

 

Forms and Documents

Fall Registration for Varsity, JV and Freshman sports will open on July 19

Modified sports will open on August 9-All modified athletes must register under their home school even if you are trying to play up. 

Family ID Logo

 Electronically fill out Forms for student athletes. 
Letter to Parents About FamilyID

Athletic Student Handbook (Revised Fall 2020)
The handbook contains all information student athletes need to know about the district's athletic program. It also includes an Acknowledgement Form for students and parents to sign.

APP Testing Forms Packet
Contains Preparticipation/Athletic Health History, Interval Health History, and Student Health Examination

Athletic Placement Process 
Health Appraisal Form

Athletic Forms and Info
Eligibility Policy
Concussion Management Policy
Concussion Test Form
Accident Report Form
Student Accident Claim Form
Health Appraisal & Preparticipation History
Interval Health History
Student Health Examination

 



 

 



QUICK CONTACT

Main Switchboard
845.563.3400
Food Services
845.563.3424
Registration
845.568.6672
BOE Clerk
845.563.3503
Transportation
845.568.6833
Payroll
845.563.3440
Athletics
845.563.5419
Business/Fin.
845.563.3448
Human Resources
845.563.3460
Technology
845.568.6542
Tax Office
845.563.3490
Newburgh Free Library
845.563.3600

SCHOOLS

Balmville
845.563.8550
Fostertown
845.568.6425
Gardnertown
845.568.6400
GAMS Tech
845.563.8450
Horizons
845.563.3725
Meadow Hill
845.568.6600
New Windsor
845.563.3700
Temple Hill
845.568.6450
Vails Gate
845.563.7900
Heritage Middle
845.563.3750
South Middle
845.563.7000
NFA Main
845.563.5400
NFA North
845.563.8400
NFA West
845.568.6560