(845) 563-3400     124 Grand Street, Newburgh, NY 12550
 

Technology Department



Important Links 
Student Virtual Technology Support

General Information
Welcome to the Technology Department webpage. You can find information about happenings within the Tech Department as well as resources and documents for teachers, students and staff.  Our blog is available here.

 

Mojo Helpdesk Replaces SchoolDude Technology Helpdesk
The Technology Division has heard loud and clear the challenges associated with SchoolDude as a help desk solution, and spent six months selecting its replacement; Mojo Help Desk.  This system will simplify the process of entering a help desk ticket, streamline work orders for our technicians, and allow the Division of Technology and Information to provide faster, more consistent service. The improved reporting features will also allow for better reporting to the district on help desk tickets and to more efficiently allocate resources and trainings.  NECSD employees can click here for the “quick start” guide.

 

Building Tech Issue Reporting
The procedure for reporting technical issues within a building is as follows: All technology issues should be reported using Mojo Helpdesk.  Mojo helpdesk is also accessible via the Launchpad and the "waffle", upon log in to a NECSD Google account.  A ticket will automatically be created and forwarded to the appropriate technician for resolution.  A follow up email from the system will be sent to the person reporting the issue.   New users, please reference our Mojo Helpdesk quickstart guide.

SCHOOL NAME CONTACT
Balmville

Karen Molfese, Instructional Tech. Facilitator
Brandon Coats, Micro Computer Technician

568-6433

kmolfese@necsd.net
bcoats@necsd.net

Horizons

Shaun Merritt-Scott, Instructional Tech. Facilitator
Brandon Coats, Micro Computer Technician

563-3740

smerritt@necsd.net
bcoats@necsd.net

Fostertown

Shaun Merritt-Scott, Instructional Tech. Facilitator
Kenny Cummings, Micro Computer Technician

563-3740

smerritt@necsd.net
kcummings@necsd.net 

Gardnertown

Karen Molfese, Instructional Tech. Facilitator
Kenny Cummings, Micro Computer Technician

568-6433

kmolfese@necsd.net
kcummings@necsd.net  

GAMS

Helen Zoutis, Instructional Tech. Facilitator
Thomson Niblo, Micro Computer Technician

563-8476

hzoutis@necsd.net
tniblo@necsd.net 

Meadow Hill

John Blakley, Instructional Tech. Facilitator
Malik Moore, Micro Computer Technician

568-6643

jblakley@necsd.net
mmoore@necsd.net
 

New Windsor

Andrea Merrill, Instructional Tech. Facilitator
Anthony Bruce, Micro Computer Technician

563-3713

amerrill@necsd.net
abruce@necsd.net 

Temple Hill

Dan Svarczkopf - Instructional Tech. Facilitator
Thomas Maldarelli III, Micro Computer Technician

568-6486

dsvarczkopf@necsd.net
tmaldarelli@necsd.net

Vails Gate

Helen Zoutis, Instructional Tech. Facilitator
Thomson Niblo, Micro Computer Technician

563-7913

hzoutis@necsd.net
tniblo@necsd.net 

Heritage

Dan Olsen, Instructional Tech. Facilitator
Wyatt Stevens, Micro Computer Technician

563-3791

dolsen@necsd.net
wstevens@necsd.net  

South Middle

William Antonelli, Instructional Tech. Facilitator
Jim Niblo, Micro Computer Technician

563-7037

wantonelli@necsd.net
jniblo@necsd.net

NFA Main

Matthew Decker, Instructional Tech. Facilitator
Melissa Doulin, Instructional Tech. Facilitator 

Tom Durante, Micro Computer Technician
Ken Pomilla, Micro Computer Technician

563-5566

mdecker@necsd.net 
mdoulin@necsd.net
tdurante@necsd.net
kpomilla@necsd.net 

NFA North

Jackie Holmes, Instructional Tech. Facilitator
Yvonne Branley, Micro Computer Technician

563-2791

jholmes@necsd.net
ybranley@necsd.net 

NFA West

Andrea Merrill, Instructional Tech. Facilitator
Anthony Bruce, Micro Computer Technician

563-3713
amerrill@necsd.net
abruce@necsd.net 

Smart Schools Bond Act
The Smart Schools Bond Act was passed in the 2014-15 Enacted Budget and approved by the voters in a statewide referendum held during the 2014 General Election on Tuesday, November 4, 2014. The Smart Schools Bond Act (SSBA) authorized the issuance of $2 billion of general obligation bonds to finance improved educational technology and infrastructure to improve learning and opportunity for students throughout the State. The SSBA requires that a Review Board review and approve districts’ Smart Schools Investment Plans before any funds may be made available for the program.

Documents
Smart Schools Bond Act Preliminary Plan
SSIP #1 - Network Refresh

SSIP #2 - Network Refresh NFA
SSIP #3 - Interactive Displays
SSIP #4 - Security/Voice
SSIP #5 - Security Upgrades 

 

 

End of Year Information June 2019

For Teachers:

  1. Please make sure to backup to your network home directory or Google Drive any items you wish to keep.  Documents should not be saved on a desktop or local hard drive, as these may be lost if the computer is damaged, moved to another location, or serviced.  
     
  2. Teachers are encouraged to take their laptops home for use during the summer.  Any teacher who does not wish to take the laptop home for the summer must schedule a time to drop off the laptop with the building technician who will inventory the device and store it for the summer.
     
  3. If a problem occurs during the summer which requires service to a teacher laptop, please contact the NECSD Help Desk (helpdesk@necsd.net or 845-568-6540) to schedule a time to drop off the laptop in the district. Laptops will be serviced as technicians are available and teachers will be contacted to come and pick up the laptop once service has been completed. A “loaner device” will be made available, though it may be a different model.

 

For Students:

  1. All Chromebooks, including the charger, need to be returned to the school prior to the end of the school year, where they will be inventoried in the district’s system. District provided carrying cases may be kept at home and used again next year.
     
  2. For Graduating Seniors:  If you wish to export your data stored in G Suite (i.e Gmail, Drive, etc.) to a flash drive or personal Google Account, please follow the link below to use the Google Takeout service. Once you graduate, your account will be removed over the summer and all documents will be deleted and unrecoverable.  

Please share this information with your classmates!

Help Document for using Google Takeout

https://support.google.com/accounts/answer/3024190?hl=en

Google Takeout

https://takeout.google.com/


Contact Technology

Onyx Peterson, Chief Information Officer
Jennifer Cronk,
Director Information and 
      Technology 

Jeremy Wood, Senior Network Manager
Marc Bilyou, Network Specialist
Angel Valle, Systems Engineer, Phone/Cameras

Dawn Mathieu, Help Desk Coordinator


20 Chestnut Street
Newburgh, NY 12550

Phone: (845) 568-6540

Email: Helpdesk@necsd.net

Important Topics and Documents

Recycling Program

When technology in the district is deemed obsolete the equipment is gathered and given to a recycling company. This recycling company disposes of the equipment in the appropriate way to avoid toxic chemical from entering our landfills and bodies of water. 

 

 

Video Tutorial and Resources

 Add a Folder and Clear Manager

More Tutorials Coming Soon

More Tutorials Coming Soon

Google Suite

More Tutorials Coming Soon_

More Tutorials Coming Soon

More Tutorials Coming Soon



QUICK CONTACT

Main Switchboard
845.563.3400
Food Services
845.563.3424
Registration
845.563.5437
BOE Clerk
845.563.3503
Transportation
845.568.6833
Payroll
845.563.3440
Athletics
845.563.5419
Business/Fin.
845.563.3448
Human Resources
845.563.3460
Technology
845.568.6542
Tax Office
845.563.3490
Newburgh Free Library
845.563.3600

SCHOOLS

Balmville
845.563.8550
Fostertown
845.568.6425
Gardnertown
845.568.6400
GAMS Tech
845.563.8450
Horizons
845.563.3725
Meadow Hill
845.568.6600
New Windsor
845.563.3700
Temple Hill
845.568.6450
Vails Gate
845.563.7900
Heritage Middle
845.563.3750
South Middle
845.563.7000
NFA Main
845.563.5400
NFA North
845.563.8400
NFA West
845.568.6560